How to delete your Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge sync data

Learn how to delete your Microsoft Edge and Google Chrome sync data with this step-by-step tutorial.

You can delete synced bookmarks (favorites), history, settings, passwords, extensions, apps, autofill, and open tabs.

Google Chrome

Method 1

1. Open your web browser. It doesn't have to be Google Chrome. You can use any web browser you want.

2. Go to https://chrome.google.com/sync.

3. Log in to the Google account for which you want to delete the sync data.

This will bring you to the “Chrome data in your account” page.

4. Click the Clear data button at the bottom of the page.

Google clear data button

5. In the “Clear data” confirmation window, you click Clear.

Google clear data confirmation

This will stop sync and delete your Google Chrome sync data from Google servers.

Method 2

1. Open Google Chrome.

2. Click on your profile icon in the top right corner.

3. Click Sync is on.

Open sync settings in Google Chrome

4. Click Review your synced data.

Google Chrome Review your synced data

This will bring you to the “Chrome data in your account” page.

5. Click the Clear data button at the bottom of the page.

Google clear data button

6. In the “Clear data” confirmation window, you click Clear.

Google clear data confirmation

This will stop sync and delete your Google Chrome sync data from Google servers.

Method 3

1. Open Google Chrome.

2. Click on the ⋮ menu button in the top right corner.

Google Chrome menu button

3. Click Settings.

Open Google Chrome settings

4. In the “Google and You” section, you click Sync and Google services.

Sync and Google services

5. Click Review your synced data.

Google Chrome Review your synced data

This will bring you to the “Chrome data in your account” page.

6. Click the Clear data button at the bottom of the page.

Google clear data button

7. In the “Clear data” confirmation window, you click Clear.

Google clear data confirmation

This will stop sync and delete your Google Chrome sync data from Google servers.

Microsoft Edge

To delete your Microsoft Edge sync data: open settings > Profiles > Sync > Re-sync data to this device > Still having sync problems? Try another option > Reset sync > Reset > Okay.

1. Open Microsoft Edge.

2. Click on the … three-dot menu icon located in the top right corner of Microsoft Edge.

Microsoft Edge menu button

3. Click on Settings.

Open Microsoft Edge settings

4. Make sure you're in the Profiles section.

5. Click on Sync.

Microsoft Edge sync

6. Scroll down to the Re-sync data to this device section.

7. Click on Still having sync problems? Try another option.

Open Reset sync data from Microsoft server setting

8. Click on the Reset sync button.

Microsoft Edge Reset sync button

9. A small window will appear and here you click on the Reset button.

Microsoft Edge Reset button

Microsoft will now delete your Microsoft Edge sync data from its servers.

10. When the “Reset sync data from Microsoft servers” window appears, you click the Okay button.