How to automatically delete browsing data in Edge and Brave

This tutorial will show you step by step how to automatically delete browsing history and other browsing data in Microsoft Edge and Brave.

You can choose what browsing data to delete automatically every time you close the web browser.

You can set Microsoft Edge and Brave to automatically delete the following browsing data:

How to automatically delete browsing history in Microsoft Edge on a PC

1. Open Microsoft Edge.

2. Click on the menu button in the top right corner of your web browser. The menu button consists of three horizontally aligned dots (⋯).

Microsoft Edge menu button

3. Click on Settings.

Open Microsoft Edge settings

4. Click on Privacy, search, and services in the left menu.

Open privacy, search, and services settings in Microsoft Edge

5. Scroll down to the Clear browsing data section.

6. Click on Choose what to clear every time you close the browser.

Choose what to clear every time you close the browser settings in Microsoft Edge

Now you will see a list of all the types of data you can clear every time you close the web browser.

7. Click the toggle next to the data type that you want to clear.

Automatically delete browsing data in Microsoft Edge

Microsoft Edge will from now on automatically delete the selected browsing data every time you close the web browser.

How to automatically delete browsing history in Microsoft Edge on Android

The steps below work for the Microsoft Edge web browser on all Android phones, such as Samsung, Lenovo, Motorola, OnePlus, ASUS, Nokia, Google, Sony, LG, and all other Android smartphones.

1. Open Microsoft Edge.

2. Tap on the menu button at the bottom.

Menu button in Microsoft Edge on Android

3. Tap on Settings.

Open settings in Microsoft Edge on Android

4. Scroll down and tap on Privacy and Security.

Open privacy and security settings in Microsoft Edge on Android

5. Scroll down and tap on Clear browsing data.

Clear browsing data option in Microsoft Edge on Android

Now you will see a list of all the types of data you can clear every time you close the web browser.

6. Tap on the toggle button next to Clear browsing data upon exit to turn it on.

7. Check the checkbox next to the data type that you want to clear.

Automatically delete browsing data in Microsoft Edge on Android

Microsoft Edge will from now on automatically delete the selected browsing data every time you close the web browser.

How to automatically delete browsing history in Brave on a PC

1. Open Brave.

2. Click on the ≡ menu button in the top right corner of your web browser.

Brave menu button

3. Click on Settings.

Open Brave settings

4. In the left menu, you click on Additional settings.

5. Under Additional settings, you click on Privacy and security.

6. Click on Clear browsing data.

Clear browsing data in Brave browser

A “Clear browsing data” window will appear.

7. Click on On exit.

8. Select the data type that you want to clear.

9. Click on the Save button.

Automatically delete browsing data in Brave

Brave will from now on automatically delete the selected browsing data every time you close the web browser.



Maybe you're also interested in:

How to block website notifications in Chrome and Edge

How to delete saved passwords in Chrome, Edge and Brave

How to change the default search engine in Chrome and Edge

How to make your web browser always open in private mode on Windows 10

How to make Chrome, Edge, Brave always open in full screen on Windows 10

How to make your web browser open on startup on Windows 10